Winter Inspiration

Sometimes the New Year does not immediately inspire; sometimes it takes its time, and then surprises you with its originality.

Which is then promptly ruined by human weakness, unless that human can find some way to harness his trepidation. And so it was decided, on a snowy January evening, that I should seriously explore my interest in food by writing about it, as I had always wanted to. As I sit in the rocking chair writing this first post, I tell myself, “Three well thought out posts a week. Surely you can accomplish that.”

The web is a scary place for sure. And putting yourself out there is tough. But I love food so much that I know I need to do this. A few times a week, I will talk about what I ate that day. Did I make it? What was the process, if so? What went well, or badly? Did my amazing Mom make it? Do I know what she put in it? Most importantly, what did it taste like; because, after all this is Fantastic Flavors, and when it comes down to it, we will eat any food if it tastes good to us, no matter what it looks like.

I made it here to this web page in one night, and now all I need to do is talk about what I ate today.

Breakfast was not at all made by me. At all. It was oven-toasted leftover pancakes, made by my dad yesterday – his special recipe with molasses and whole wheat, that I wish I was talented enough to recreate – poached eggs, made by my Dad today, sliced tomatoes, bacon, green onions, cheese, orange slices and of course coffee. Not to shabby. The tomatoes were fantastic for the dead of winter, and with the green onion sprinkled on top on them, and the saltiness of the bacon, they practically exploded in one’s mouth.

Some trail mix was tried midday (more like mid afternoon), as well as tzatziki made by me yesterday. With corn chips. Shudder. But the tzatziki itself is so interesting and addicting. I made it, with homemade yogurt, from this recipe,  which has always turned out so flavorful even without the overnight rests.

Dinner was oven roasted russets coated in some yummy balsamic mixture which my mom conjured up, as well as venison steak pan fried with a little Montreal Steak Seasoning, and diced eggplant sauteed with onions, garlic, oil, tons of salt (and it still wasn’t salty enough), pepper, lemon juice, more oil, and thyme.

I might have to devote a post entirely to thyme, as it is my favorite herb of all time, at least for now. And yes thyme is an herb, not a spice. Do not call it a spice. Use common sense.

Leave a Reply

