Restaurant Recollections: A Different Experience

It was called the Beach House; a restaurant sitting right on the ocean beach, overlooking the tides, and the sunsets that made them look like liquid gems. I was nervous about going in; after all this place was way too upper class for me to work in.

I was wrong, as is the case much more often than I like to admit. The chef sat down with me right then and there, and offered me a job ten minutes later. Even though he admitted that they had just filled all their openings.

He also told me that he had just started his job as head chef 4 weeks earlier. The fact that he told this to me, a stranger whom he had just hired, should have sparked a little warning in me that he might not be a great boss. But more on that later.

This was a real restaurant, as I was soon to find out – as opposed to the tiny small menu restaurants I had previously worked in. 50 homemade sauces lined an entire wall of the walk-in cooler. I spent my first day learning how to make the salads, but unlike other restaurants, I made them for myself and then ate them, which was super fun, and also a great learning experience.

The second day, I missed the bus. And then the next one, because it was full. I ended up two hours late, sick with worry and sure that I was about to be fired. My boss sat down with me, and was very understanding about the whole thing; I went and got changed and cried a little bit. Then I went back down and learned how to make sushi.

Ok, I am kind of lying. I started to learn how to make sushi.

Restaurants operate a lot differently than people who have not worked in them think they do. This series on my restaurant recollections will, I hope, allow readers to gain an understanding of how stressful and complicated restaurant operation actually is, but also, how unique and rewarding the job is in the long run.

Ciao!

 

One thought on “Restaurant Recollections: A Different Experience

Leave a Reply

